Balancing the Seven Chakras

The word “chakra” literally translates to “disk” or “wheel” in Sanskrit, and in English, it’s used to refer to the seven energy centers everyone has in their body. Each chakra has different attributes and functions, and keeping them balanced regulates both physical and emotional well-being. Balancing your chakras is an incredible technique that can help you feel more balanced and relaxed.  Here are some brief overviews of each of the seven chakras and strategies you can use to balance them.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Location: Base of spine

Color: Red

Element: Earth

The root chakra provides you with a foundation for facing life’s challenges. When it is balanced, it gives you a sense of safety and security that enables you to work at ambitious goals with self-confidence. When it is out of balance, you can feel insecure and lack the motivation to follow your dreams.

To balance your root chakra, find a calm, quiet place to meditate. Then close your eyes and envision the color red emitting from the base of your spine and flowing down through your legs and feet, grounding you to the earth.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

Location: Lower abdomen, slightly below belly button

Color: Orange

Element: Water

The sacral chakra is associated with creativity and passion. When it is balanced, it inspires you to express yourself and form deep, meaningful relationships with others. When it is out of balance, you become irritable, and your negative emotions can prevent you from living your best life.

To balance your sacral chakra, do something to take care of your body, like soaking in a relaxing bath or having a loved one rub your back.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Location: Upper abdomen, between belly button and bottom of ribcage

Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

The solar plexus chakra is associated with transformation. It’s responsible for helping you to become your best self. When it is balanced, you feel self-assured and have a sense of clarity that enables you to make the best choices for yourself. When it is out of balance, you lose your grip on your sense of self, and it’s hard to find a sense of direction in life.

To balance your solar plexus chakra, take a walk in an area filled with nature. Pay close attention to the details that surround you and how your body feels in the moment.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Location: Center of chest, near heart

Color: Green

Element: Air

As you may have guessed, the heart chakra is associated with love and compassion. When it is balanced, you see the best in both the people around you and yourself, and you go out of your way to be kind and considerate. When it is out of balance, you develop a lack of trust that manifests itself in the form of hatred.

To balance your heart chakra, repeat affirmations like “I am loved,” “I accept myself,” and “I accept others,” to yourself when you are alone.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Location: Base of throat

Color: Blue

Element: Space/Ether

The throat chakra promotes effective communication for proper understanding of one another. When it is balanced, you use your words to express yourself with honesty and kindness. When it is out of balance, you lose control of your words and say mean-spirited things that you don’t truly mean.

To balance your throat chakra, write your thoughts and feelings down in a journal at the end of each day.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Location: Between the eyes

Color: Indigo

Element: Light

The third eye chakra is responsible for intuition and imagination. When it is balanced, you are able to put the events in your life into perspective and understand that everything happens for a reason. When it is out of balance, you become closed-minded and incapable of seeing issues from multiple sides.

To balance your third eye chakra, establish a regular sleeping routine, making sure to get at least 7-8 hours of sleep each night.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Location: Top of head

Color: Purple

Element: Thought

The crown chakra is associated with spirituality and aids you in finding your purpose in life. When it is balanced, you feel at peace with the universe and with yourself. When it is out of balance, you feel as if nothing in life really matters.

To balance your crown chakra, clean out your living space, removing any clutter that can distract you from the more important things in life.

Find your inner peace and spirituality by balancing your chakras. You may be amazed at how much better you’ll feel about yourself and your relationships with others.